This was ICT4S 2014

The 2nd International Conference on ICT for Sustainability took place in Stockholm August 24-27, 2014. The conference was organized by KTH Royal Institute of Technology in cooperation with VU University Amsterdam.

Mattias Höjer (general chair), Patricia Lago and Josefin Wangel (program chairs) would like to thank all participants, contributors and the organizing team for a great conference!


ICT4S 2014 hosted 150 participants (200 including workshops) from 34 countries of which 18 from non-European countries.

Conference facilitator

Peter Woodward led us professionally and with splendid British humor through the conference. See his farewell address recorded at the end of the conference.


49 out of 100 submitted full papers were accepted after a single-blind peer-review. The open access proceedings are available at Atlantis press. The posters of the conference are available on the ICT4S website.

Best paper

The best paper award went to Elina Eriksson and Daniel Pargman from KTH Royal Institute of Technology for the paper “ICT4S Reaching Out: Making sustainability relevant in higher education”.

Best poster

The best poster award went to Morten T Egholm from DTU – Technical University of Denmark for the poster “Energy Fingerprint“.

Keynote presentations

The powerpoints from the keynote presentations can be found on the ICT4S website.


The conference tried a new format for presenting scientific papers – ConverStations.   The format – jointly developed by the general chair, program chairs and the conference facilitator – received  overwhelmingly positive response.

Conference hero

Finally, a great thanks to Daniel Vare, project manager for ICT4S 2014, who was responsible for preparing and arranging most of the practical things before, during and after the conference.

Meet again?

The next ICT4S conference will be held 7-9 September 2015 in Copenhagen in conjunction with the EnviroInfo Conference.

Farewell address by Peter Woodward

Peter Woodward explaining ConverStations

ICT4S 2014 Pictures

Welcome note by Peter Woodward


The Conference proceedings are no now available at

The proceedings are Open access for everybody through funding provided by the conference.

The proceedings consist of 49 thoroughly peer-reviewed papers of high scientific standard. The papers cover a broad range of topics that should be relevant for anyone interested in ICT and sustainable development, and especially those of you with an interest in environmental sustainability. This is, to the best of our knowledge, the most comprehensive publication in the field so far.

We are grateful to all authors and reviewers who have made this possible, and hope to see you all at the conference in Stockholm on August 24-27. If you have not yet registered, this is still possible at:


Instructions to Converstations

During ICT4S 2014 we will use the format ConverStations for presentations of most of the papers. Here is a short introduction video to the ConverStations

You find more instructions in the instructions to presenters and participants.




Two new workshops

We have two new workshops to the conference.

Both will be held Sunday 24 August AM.

Continue reading Two new workshops

Keynote: Lorraine Hudson

The final keynote speaker at ICT4S 2014 is Lorraine Hudson. Lorraine is a freelance consultant specialising in sustainability and smart cities and has reviously worked for Bristol City Council managing Smart City Bristol. 

You find the bio of all keynote speakers at

Continue reading Keynote: Lorraine Hudson

Reviews of papers now completed

The review process for the submitted papers is now completed and the corresponding authors have been contacted and have received their reviews.
The acceptance rate for papers to ICT4S 2014 was 50%. We now encourage all authors to build upon these reviews both those accepted and not. Note that for all accepted papers the next deadline will be 31 May when we need the Camera-Ready versions fully formatted according to the guide lines by email to

For both accepted paper as well as for poster a minimum of one author needs to have registered by 1 June.

Note that early bird registration fees end May 15!
Register here now